Kenny Chesney in Boston Common Magazine: Bostonians Are Not Afraid

He’s one of the most outspoken country singers in the business, and now Kenny Chesney speaks up about the Boston Marathon bombings.

In the Summer 2013 issue of Boston Common magazine, the “Pirate Flag” hitmaker discussed his love for the historic town and how he’s giving back to the community after the April 15 attacks.

Check out GossipCenter’s highlights from Mr. Chesney’s interview below. For more, be sure to visit Boston Common!

On his love for New England:
“I think that New Englanders live life and they love life as much as I do. We connected from the beginning when I first played in Boston in a small theater. We didn’t always play Gillette Stadium. It was built over time. Oddly enough, the people are very much like the ones I grew up with in East Tennessee. They’re not afraid. They play hard and love hard. And they love sports like I do. It’s a very passionate town, whether it’s sports, music, or food. We invested in each other, and over time we’ve built this wonderful thing. There’s a strong New England thread that runs through my life in the Virgin Islands, too. My boat captain is from New England, and so are many of my friends. Once you have that one certain thing in your soul that leans towards the water, it never leaves you.”

On his first reaction to the bombings:
“Watching the footage, I was stunned at first. And then, like for a lot of people, for me it turned to anger. Why do we live in a world where you can’t go to the movie theater in Colorado, where you can’t take your kids to school in Connecticut, where you can’t go watch a major sporting event in America? We should be able to cheer for our friends running in the Boston Marathon and be happy that they accomplished something so wonder. Why can’t we do that?”

On helping those in Boston:
“Bostonians have shown me so much love over the years, how could I not do something? God has given me this life where I can use music to help people. Regardless of your religious beliefs, political views, or your background, the one thing that’s most universal in our lives is the power and love of music. And music can help people heal. When I saw this happen, I thought of a song on the new record called ‘Spread the Love,’ which seemed like the right message to send to people in Boston, especially those whose lives were changed in an instant, through no fault of their own. I’m excited that Boston radio stations and the Boston Medical Center have partnered with us. We’re also selling T-shirts to raise money for the fund. It’s one of the things that I’m proud of in my whole music”

Leave a Reply

